NZ vs SL: Tom Latham Named Captain As New Zealand Name Squad For Sri Lanka ODIs

On Monday, March 13, New Zealand Cricket (NZC) announced a new-look ODI squad of the BlackCaps for the upcoming series against the Sri Lanka National Cricket Team.

The Sri Lanka tour of New Zealand 2023 consists of a two-match Test series, a three-match ODI series and a three-match T20I series. The ODIs will be played on March 25, 28 and 31 in Auckland, Christchurch and Hamilton.

IPL 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score 

Tom Latham is set to lead New Zealand in the absence of regular skipper Kane Williamson. Along with Williamson, Tim Southee, Devon Conway and Mitchell Santner have not been included in the squad. Also, Finn Allen, Lockie Ferguson and Glenn Phillips will be released from the squad after the first ODI to fly to India for the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023.

Following the departure of Finn Allen, Lockie Ferguson and Glenn Phillips, Henry Nicholls, Mark Chapman and Ben Lister will join the ODI squad from the second game onwards.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Chad Bowes has received a call-up for the series against the Lankan Lions and Ben Lister is the other uncapped player in the squad. Also, Will Young and Tom Blundell have returned to the ODI setup for the series.

It’s always exciting as a coach to have new players in the environment – Gary Stead

In an official statement released by the New Zealand Cricket (NZC), head coach Gary Stead talked about the selections.

“It’s always exciting as a coach to have new players in the environment and to have players putting their hands up to be selected again in a particular format,” Gary Stead said.

“Chad has been impressive for a number of seasons at the top of the order for Canterbury as well as being an excellent fielder.

“We are set to play 16 white-ball matches between now and the start of May so there will be a number of chances for players to test themselves in familiar and unfamiliar conditions.”

“Tom Blundell, in particular, is someone who we’ve been hugely impressed by in international cricket over the past 18 months as a leader in the Test team and then domestically with the Wellington Firebirds. It’s an exciting opportunity for Tom ahead of a big year of white-ball cricket,” he said.

New Zealand Squad For Sri Lanka ODIs:

Tom Latham (c), Finn Allen (ODI 1), Tom Blundell, Chad Bowes, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman (ODI 2 & 3), Lockie Ferguson (ODI 1), Matt Henry, Ben Lister (ODI 2 & 3), Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls (ODI 2 & 3), Glenn Phillips (ODI 1), Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Young.

Also Read: IND vs AUS: BCCI Lodge Appeal Against Indore Pitch Rating As ICC To Set Panel For Assessment – Reports

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *